Stream of Consciousness of a Girl Moving to France

WP_20140920_06_51_53_Pro (2)

I am feeling calm. Maybe it’s because my 10-hour layover was half comprised of me laying in a bed in a rented capsule with a shower and a tv in the airport. Maybe it’s because I am early at my gate, and can hang my purse behind my chair since I’m in the corner overlooking the boarding space. Maybe it’s because there aren’t too many people around me and I don’t feel like I will be mugged. Maybe it’s because I am by the window watching the planes take off and land. Maybe it’s because I am realizing that friends and family are miles away by only a plane ride away. Or maybe it’s because it’s golden hour. The beautiful time of day where everything is basked in orange as the sun sets.

The capsule where you can sleep, shower and watch TV.

The capsule where you can sleep, shower and watch TV.

I don’t really know why I am feeling this tranquil given the circumstances:
1) I’ve been to about 8 cities in the last week (most of the time was spent at my family’s house in Russia; getting there is the adventure).
2) I have been traveling since 3:30 am this morning: 2-hour drive to Mineral Waters, a flight to Moscow, that 10-hour layover, and now the last leg of the trip, Paris.
3) Oh yeah, and this: I am moving to France in the next few hours.

A view of the  City of Lights

A view of the City of Lights

Ok, most of my stuff is already in Paris. I was there a week ago, so I don’t have to worry about schlepping the luggage around anymore. But I’m about to move to another country kinda for an indefinite amount of time. I am about to teach English to pre-pubescents. And I’m about to move in with my boyfriend. Why am I calm?

WP_20140920_06_10_57_Pro

Maybe it’s because I just found out I have an apartment ready in Bordeaux? An apartment which will be given to us by one of my schools. An apartment which will be spacy and cozy and awesome. Maybe it’s because I already know the city streets and transportation system? Maybe it’s because I’m not alone? Maybe because I am finally going back?

WP_20140911_09_00_28_Pro

Compared to this summer (and this whole last year, at that), I have a few more questions answered, but there is much that will take shape in the next week. So there you have it, the stream of consciousness of a girl moving to France.

I didn't get to see the real one (yet), but here is a nice replica of the Little Mermaid statute in Copenhagen (one of the 8 cities of the last week)

I didn’t get to see the real one (yet), but here is a nice replica of the Little Mermaid statute in Copenhagen (one of the 8 cities of the last week)

IMG_8227

More photos and such can be found at my facebook page.

Here is me documenting, as always.

Here is me documenting, as always.

-Love,

Nika

One comment

  1. Jennifer · September 20, 2014

    I feel the same about moving to France this time. Strangely calm is a perfect way to put it. I think we are just ready for the new adventure that awaits us!

Comments

