I learned what humidity is

Bye bye Bay Area, hello NC blog

Apparently, I don’t know what humidity is. Growing up in California, such a thing was never a problem. When my cousin traveled to Florida a few years ago, she told me that humidity was horrible, to put it nicely. Your clothes get soaked and your body and hair are constantly wet.

Well, it’s time for me to find out. A couple days ago, I boarded a plane from San Francisco to North Carolina. It’s not my first time visiting the East Coast, but it is my first time going there in the summer. I’m staying in Chapel Hill for a night and then headed to an island called Figure Eight.

Flying from San Francisco to North Carolina. The flight is a new and direct one, so we don't have a layover.

Flying from San Francisco to North Carolina. The flight is a new and direct one, so we don’t have a layover.

According to a reliable source (my fellow traveler and a native Chapel Hillian), the town can be described as “provincial.” There are woods, streams and hike paths. Chapel Hill is around the middle of the state. It’s a college town and is more diverse than other parts of North Carolina. And yes, it is humid.

This humidity was one of two things I noticed on my first night in NC. It was like the air was heavier and harder to breathe. And while sunny California is known for its warm weather, it does get pretty cold at night. But here in NC, you can walk out at night without a jacket. And the second thing I couldn’t stop myself from noticing was the constant hum of crickets and cicadas! It’s pretty soothing, actually.

Well, we’re headed to an island called Figure Eight. See you in the next post!

I tried some real, southern sweet tea, and had Blue Bunny ice cream for the first time.

I tried some real, southern sweet tea, and had Blue Bunny ice cream for the first time.

I'm happy to be traveling again.

Yes, yes. I’m happy to be traveling again.

4 comments

  1. Sam · August 6, 2013

    You don’t have Blue Bunny ice cream on the West coast? That’s weird. Humidity is definitely a killer. I grew up in Maryland, and we have our fair share of it here too. I hope you brought lots of hair ties because your hair is going to get crazy! lol.

    • Nika · August 7, 2013

      Sam, I think we do have Blue Bunny on the West Coast, but I have never tried it. But it’s a very popular item in the house of the people I’m traveling with because one of the members is from Iowa, which is where the brand and the ice-cream come from. They are proud and even have Blue Bunny t-shirts!

  2. enhillstrom · August 7, 2013

    I live in TN but grew up on the west coast, so I know exactly what you mean about the humidity. You get used to it if you live in it for awhile. I also live out in the middle of nowhere, so I also know what you mean by the constant hum of insects. We have all sorts of large frogs that croak all night as well. It’s so quiet out here that it is also incredibly noisy. If that makes sense…? Anyways, I love California and hope to go back soon, but I AM going to NC sometime in the near future. Its only about 5 hours from where I live. My friends and I want to go to Ashville. Any suggestions as to things we should do/ see?

  3. stotzphoto · February 12, 2014

    I live in San Diego, CA and I’ve never seen Blue Bunny ice cream – I don’t think we have it here! No humidity here, but I’ve been to the Southeast and the humidity sucks, indeed!

Comments

