Eat to live, or live to eat?

When I was younger, I remember the women in my family occasionally mulling over cookbooks and recipes. But their zeal for food just never made sense to me. I also remember a girl in my 9th grade English class, stating boldly that while some people eat to live, she lives to eat. But again, I just didn’t see the appeal of food. It was just something you put into your body when you heard your stomach make funny noises. It was much later when I started preparing my own meals that I grew to appreciate the energy that goes into preparing a meal and the joy that food brings.

Little pleasures that make us happy.

Little pleasures that make us happy.

When it comes to food, the most important thing I brought back with me from France was the respect for meals. It’s a time to put everything away and enjoy flavorful goodies. Same goes for coffee breaks at cafes, both in the France and in the US. Cafes are one of my favorite places to pass time away. Give me a book or some wifi and I can spend hours there. Seriously.

Since being back in California, I have been preparing meals I’m actually proud of using fresh ingredients from Trader Joes. I’ve started to expand my knowledge of local cafes here in the Berkeley area. Yesterday, I actually forced myself to get up early and trot over to Cafe Clem, the new Parisian cafe a few blocks away from my place.

When I came to France, the coffee cups were tiny and took some getting used to. Now being back in the US, the  relatively huge size is taking some getting used to!

When I came to France, the coffee cups were tiny and took some getting used to. Now being back in the US, the relatively huge size is taking some getting used to!

I guess now I understand the mulling over recipes and the bold, “I live to eat” statements. They just bring on joy. Oh, and needless to mention the thousands of blogs with photos that you can spend forever looking at online!

 

2 comments

  1. Miki · August 1, 2013

    I agree with all of this. The only problem I see is the risk of gaining weight πŸ™‚

  2. ninjaitis · April 17, 2014

    I definitely live to eat. Some nights, cooking a good meal for myself is just so relaxing and invigorating. I love cooking with others, as well. It is such a great experience and really makes you appreciate how food is prepared.

Comments

